top of page
Search

Global Scholarship

I have learned many things during my time as a Global Scholar, and it is so funny to think that it is already almost over. One of the most important things that I have learned during my experience as a Global Scholar is shifting my perspective, or more specifically, experimenting with my perspective. As a result of looking at different problems and solutions plaguing and saving all different parts of the world, I have gotten to see how situational things are. Following this same train of thought, this broke my previously more concrete terms of what good and bad are- enabling me to see the world from a less black and white outlook, but more of a gray one.


What stood out to me this year in the program was undoubtedly my peers opportunity to get actual money to help their respective causes. I thought that it was admirable of all of my fellow Global Scholars to undertake such a serious project at our age, and follow through so efficiently.



If I were to do it again, I would probably have studied the same things that I did this past year. I am satisfied with my areas of interest and how I developed them over the course of this year. Two interests that I can think of are my interest in Africa and Latin America. My consistent blogging about them and extensive research about their history and current development has given me a much better insight into what/why it looks like today. My other prominent interest has been Black Lives Matter. I have gained so much knowledge about systemic racism in the US, and have grown so much as an informed American.


I have grown in terms of global awareness through my increasingly habitual look at news from all around the world. I think that I have come of age politically in the past year, and as a result have found the merit in following politics etc. from around the world. I have been fascinated by the interconnectedness of our world and its history. In simpler terms, I used to be harassed by family members about never following the news, whereas now, I read the NY Times every morning and am often the one to bring up the latest news.



I have been inspired in one main aspect of global engagement and that is documenting. I have found an interest in documentary film making/ video-journalism. In the process of working on my Capstone Project, I found a love for interacting with people and exploring different stories.


I have learned so much from my time as a Global Scholar and look forward to taking my knowledge forward.

bottom of page